Thursday, April 30, 2015

Buried Secrets - Men of Valor 1 - by Irene Hannon

Cover Art

About the book:

They both wanted quieter, safer lives.
But crime never sleeps . . .
and killers keep killing.

After years as a Chicago homicide detective, Lisa Grant is ready for the kinder, gentler life of a small-town police chief. But the discovery of a human skeleton by a construction crew at the edge of town taxes department resources. Enter ex-Navy SEAL Mac McGregor, the detective sent by the county to assist on the case. As they work to solve the mystery behind the unmarked grave, danger begins to shadow them. Someone doesn't want this dead person telling any tales--and will stop at nothing to make certain a life-shattering secret stays buried.

My review:

What a wonderful story!  It moved along fast and it was hard to put down.  I loved the suspense and the investigation as Lisa and Mac try to solve a cold case.  It was interesting getting into the head of the killer as you learned more about their motives and other factors behind the scenes.  The romance was great, with an immediate attraction between Lisa and Mac, but both of them determined to remain professional until they solved the case.  I liked all of the romantic tension interspersed with the investigation.  They both had a strong faith in God.  I also liked that Lisa had a medical condition she was dealing with, so she wasn't quite perfect.  Otherwise, they were both pretty close to perfect.  They both did struggle with being workaholics and were each trying to create a personal life for themselves.  We got to meet Mac's two brothers, which it looks like the other books will be about, so I'm really excited to continue the series.  I highly recommend this book!

I received this book free from Revell in exchange for an honest review.

 The Author

  1. Irene Hannon

    Irene Hannon

    Irene Hannon is the bestselling author of more than forty-five novels, including That Certain Summer, One Perfect Spring, and the Heroes of Quantico, Guardians of Justice, and Private Justice series. Her books have been honored with two coveted...
    Continue reading about Irene Hannon 

No comments:

Post a Comment