Sunday, January 31, 2016

Thin Ice - Men of Valor 2 - by Irene Hannon

Cover Art

About the book:

If Ginny Reed is still alive--who is the woman buried in her grave?
After losing her parents and her sister, Christy Reed has been mired in grief. Now, life is finally starting to feel normal again--until an envelope addressed in her sister's handwriting arrives in the mail. And the note inside claims she is still alive.

FBI Special Agent Lance McGregor, a former Delta Force operator, is assigned to reopen the case . . . but he's coming up with more questions than answers. Is Christy a pawn in a twisted cat-and-mouse game--or the target of a sinister plot? As Lance digs deeper, one thing becomes clear: someone in the shadows has a deadly agenda.

Bestselling author and three-time RITA Award winner Irene Hannon pulls out all the stops in this high-stakes thriller that races to a bone-chilling finish.

My review:

This was an enjoyable suspenseful story!  I loved that Christy was smart and strong.  She made a great match with Lance.  I also liked that she had been a figure skater; it made for a unique backstory.  It was interesting to see Lance learning the ropes of his new job with the FBI, especially with a case as confusing as this one.  There were a few cute hints at romance, but I liked that they didn't want to mix business and pleasure.  It was interesting seeing the bad guy's viewpoint and the way we learned more about him as the story went on.  There were some good suspenseful moments.  Christy had a strong faith, even through all of her trials while Lance had wandered from God after seeing some terrible things while with the Delta Force.  There were a few conversations about faith and mentions of prayer, but I wished we would have seen a little more of Lance's journey.  This book works well as a stand-alone, though there are characters here from her previous book.  I recommend it for fans of suspense!

I received this book free from Revell in exchange for an honest review.

 The Author

  1. Irene Hannon

    Irene Hannon

    Irene Hannon is the bestselling author of more than forty-five novels, including That Certain Summer, One Perfect Spring, and the Heroes of Quantico, Guardians of Justice, and Private Justice series. Her books have been honored with three coveted...
    Continue reading about Irene Hannon 

No comments:

Post a Comment