Wednesday, August 31, 2016

Without Warning - Elite Guardians 2 - by Lynette Eason

Cover Art

About the book:

Intensity. Skill. Tenacity.
The bodyguards of Elite Guardians Agency have it all.

Katie Singleton, a partner with the Elite Guardians Protection Agency, stumbles upon her next assignment quite by accident. Spotting blue lights at a familiar restaurant, she stops to investigate, only to discover that owner Daniel Matthews has become the target of someone who will go to any lengths to put him out of business.

Daniel might be concerned, but he's not convinced that a bodyguard--and a female one at that--is necessary. A new attack and his niece's urgings are enough to make him reconsider. He and Katie must figure out who's behind the intimidation and threats--before a would-be killer strikes again.

My review:

Another wonderful romantic suspense novel from Lynette Eason!  This was a hard book to put down; something was always going on, whether Katie and Daniel were being shot at or their lives threatened in some other way. I liked that there were three perspectives shown, Daniel, Katie and his niece, Riley.  It was nice to see a teen with a strong faith and a good head on her shoulders who could be a great example for the adults in her life.  There were some wonderful spiritual conversations about some really hard topics, like Riley trusting God even though her parents were killed by a drunk driver, Daniel's anger at God and about free will.  The story also dealt with Katie's and Daniel's PTSD and some of the hard circumstances they had been through in their personal and professional lives. They seemed like a really good match, both very strong people and yet encouraging each other in their hard times.  There was some romance in the story, too.  This story worked as a stand-alone, but previous characters did make an appearance.  I would highly recommend this book if you like suspense!

I received this book free from Revell in exchange for an honest review.

 The Author

  1. Lynette Eason

    Lynette Eason

    Lynette Eason is the bestselling author of the Women of Justice series, the Deadly Reunions series, and the Hidden Identity series, as well as Always Watching and Without Warning in the Elite Guardians series. She is the winner of an ACFW Carol...
    Continue reading about Lynette Eason